The eNorth East Award, since 2010, is a unique awards system that selects and promotes local digital innovations with a high impact on improving society in the North East Region of India, covering all 8 States of the region, including Sikkim. It is a non-monetary award system with a focus on sustainable knowledge transfer through a regional and national network. Winners benefit not from a one-time financial reward, but a lifelong partnership and integration.

The eNorth East Awards promotes and awards also young innovators, who developed a digital application tackling the UN SDGs. The eNorth East Young Innovators is a special recognition for young social entrepreneurs under 26 years of age, using ICTs to take action on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs) in the region.  Together with the eNorth East winners of each year, they are honoured as outstanding digital innovation with social impact. 

The e-North East Award, since 2010, aims to scout out, identify, honour, and recognise best practices in digital innovations and solutions for sustainable development in the North East India Region. 

Nominations Invited for 8th eNorth East Award 2023

Nominations / Applications are invited from public, private, corporate, Civil Society innovators, academic institutions, and change-makers & STARTUPS working towards addressing sustainable development and governance challenges in North East India Region through the design, use and implementation of digital solutions, innovations and applications.

For any query, please write to us at

The Award details are available at

Compulsory Instructions

  • Please ensure that filled-in text is not repeated in Part I, Part II and Part III.
  • All fields and questions are mandatory.

Nominations are closed

Nomination Guidelines

  1. No Cost: The registration and nomination process for the 8th eNortheast Award 2023 is a no-cost application process.
  2. Nomination limitations: Applicant agency/organisation can submit nominations in multiple categories.
  3. Ongoing projects/initiatives only: Nominated projects/practices must be ongoing, at least for the last six months, up and running. Closed initiatives will lead to disqualification. Projects must be from the region covering one or more of the 8 states.
  4. Nomination revision: Once a nomination form is submitted, it cannot be changed.
  5. Disqualification: False information submitted concerning the project will result in the Nominee’s immediate and permanent rejection.
  6. Project per category: One project shall only be submitted for one category.
  7. Previous Entries: If a project was not a previous year’s winning entry, it may be submitted again. The same project’s award nominations from previous year’s winners will not be taken into consideration. It has to be submitted afresh with the latest updates.
  8. Language: Irrespective of the product/project language, all producer and project information must be in English.
  9. Acknowledgement: All applicants shall receive an acknowledgement mail to their email address after submitting the nomination form successfully.
  10. Mandatory fields: The fields marked mandatory in nomination forms are necessary to fill by the nominee.
  11. Who can Apply: Government departments and agencies, private organisations, NGOs, CSRs and individuals.
  12. Duration of the Project: At the time of application, the initiative/project should have been active for at least six months.
  13. Eligible North East States: Nominations are welcome from the following Northeast states: Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.
  14. Emphasis: Entries should place more emphasis on execution and effect than on audience size and interaction.


Award Categories

Nominations and applications are invited public and private sectors, civil society, academia and others, for the 8th edition in the following Categories:


Solutions for fostering citizen engagement and participation in public administration, delivering content-rich interfaces that connect individuals, businesses, and organizations. These solutions ensure accessible information, streamlined procedures, improved service quality, transparency, and equitable resource distribution.


Solutions that establish sustainable and inclusive educational access, catering to learners of all levels through interactive e-learning communities and personalized online resources. These solutions facilitate knowledge transfer, skill acquisition, teacher empowerment, gender equality, and inclusive education, utilizing innovative technology to provide safe and effective learning environments for all, including marginalized groups.


Solutions for revolutionizing healthcare delivery, prioritizing innovative content applications to meet citizens’ and patients’ needs. These solutions aim to reduce maternal and child mortality, combat epidemics like AIDS and malaria, empower healthcare professionals with data-driven tools, and promote overall well-being through informed health education and behaviour enhancement


This category promotes projects using digital tools for empowering disadvantaged groups in North East India. It supports tech-based access to welfare, education, and social protection. It aims to bridge digital divides, ensure inclusivity, and reduce inequalities. Additionally, it seeks to enhance resilience to shocks, ensure equal access to essentials, and empower women while preventing violence.


This category welcomes ICT and digital initiatives driving sustainable agriculture and rural development in North East India, encompassing Satellite Imagery, GPS, GIS, IoT, AI, AgriTech Platforms, and more. These innovations optimize farming practices, enhance resource management, offer digital financial services, knowledge sharing, and market access, ultimately fostering inclusive and sustainable rural development.”


This category celebrates digital initiatives advancing livelihoods, opportunities, and enterprises in both rural and urban contexts. Including solutions like Online Marketplaces, E-Commerce, E-Learning, and leveraging social media for entrepreneurship, it drives inclusive livelihood generation and development.”


This category acknowledges ICT and digital initiatives enhancing business and commerce, spanning state, regional, and indigenous levels, including women-led and local businesses. Solutions encompass E-Commerce, Digital Payment Systems, Supply Chain Management, blockchain, IoT, Data Analytics, CRM, Social Media Advertising, SEO, B2B Marketplaces, Collaboration Tools, AI applications. These innovations empower commerce across rural and urban contexts.”


This category seeks initiatives preserving and presenting cultural heritage through tech innovation, promoting diversity, safe travel, and sustainable tourism. Emphasizing state-of-the-art tools to showcase assets, aid travelers, and promote local culture, it ensures heritage transmission for future generations.”


This category seeks digital tech solutions for addressing environmental and climate challenges in North East India. From ecology to waste management, projects tackling e-waste, climate resilience, and environmental protection are welcomed.


Keywords: mobility |productive work | sustainable living 

Solutions promoting economic productivity, diversification, and innovation while ensuring decent work, gender equality, and equal pay. This category invites projects enhancing regional infrastructure, safe transport systems, inclusive human settlement planning, green spaces, and sustainable urban-rural connections. Also, solutions for smart buildings, financial assistance, and data access are encouraged.”